Optician Awards 2019: shortlists announced

After a day of heated debate, the shortlists in the Optician Awards 2019 can now be revealed

Debates have raged, judges have deliberated and the finalists for the 2019 Optician Awards can finally be revealed (see below).

In total, 18 categories are up for grabs including new trophies for the Frame Stylist of the Year of the year, sponsored by Transitions and a Low Vision Award. Also joining this year are new sponsors in the form of ASDA which is sponsoring the Dispensing Optician of the Year category.

The clock is now ticking down to the biggest night of the optical year, The Awards presentation, where the winners will be announced in a colourful night of 1980 nostalgia. This year the Awards take the earlier slot of March 30 at the Hilton Metropole Hotel Birmingham on the Saturday night of the Optrafair weekend.

Winning an Optician award is the pinnacle of many optical careers. The road to glory starts here and a full list of finalists (see opposite) have been selected following a thorough judging process and debate by our adjudicating panels.

Close on 300 entrants completed a 1,000 word entry and provided supporting material creating a hefty workload for our judging panels. Optician would like to take this opportunity to thank them for all of their hard work.

Optician would also like to congratulate all of those who made it through to a shortlist and remind them that they are cordially invited to a finalists party in the Jewel Bar on London Piccadilly Circus at the end of February.This is an opportunity for our shortlists to get to know one another over a canape and a drink without the feverish atmosphere of the Awards night itself.

The black tie presentation ceremony takes place in the Palace and Library Suites of the Hilton Hotel next to Optrafair on March 30. Our stunning Art Deco trophies will be presented at a glittering evening of entertainment amid some 1980s nostalgia, fun and surprises. The evening will start with a reception sponsored by Scope. The 500 plus guests will go on enjoy a sumptuous three course dinner and treated to a stunning AV show. The presentation of the trophies will be overseen by a special celebrity host who will add to the theme of the night. Once the trophies have been presented there will be dancing to some of the best 1980s tunes and the chance to enjoy other 1980s fun. The night will also feature fundraising such as a game of heads and tails sponsored by Vivid and all of the money raised throughout the evening will be donated to Optician’s chosen charity for the awards which is Blind Veterans UK.

Optician thanks everyone who entered the Awards, if you didn’t make it to a shortlist bad luck, competition was fierce - better luck next year.

The Optician Awards presentation night is a celebration of optics and you don’t need to be on a shortlist to attend. To secure your ticket at the event go to

Technology Practice of the Year

Hammond and Dummer Opticians

Parley Optometrists

Radlett Opticians

Specsavers, Haverfordwest

Tompkins, Knight and Son Optometrists

Family Optician of the Year

Coleman Opticians Hearing and Vision Centre

Cooper & Barr Opticians

Heather Bailey Optometrists

Planit Opticians

Specsavers, Keighley

Valli Opticians

Multiple Practice of the Year

Boots Opticians, New Milton

Specsavers, Bicester

Specsavers, Chelmsley Wood

Specsavers, Haverfordwest

Specsavers, Sutton-in-Ashfield

Independent Practice of the Year sponsored by Hoya

Frost Borneo Opticians

Glass & Glass Optometrists

Hammond and Dummer Opticians

O’Brien’s Opticians

Kings Hill Opticians

Lynne Fernandes Optometrists

Mackie Eyecare

Fashion Practice of the Year

Clarke & Roskrow Styling Opticians

Mincher-Lockett & Co Opticians

Park Vision

Rachel Murray Eyecare


Contact Lens Practice of the Year Award sponsored by Johnson & Johnson Visioncare

Boots Opticians, Braehead

Cooper & Barr Opticians

Querido & Davidson

Specsavers, Derby

Specsavers, Keighley

Specsavers, Cannock

Practice Growth Award, sponsored by A+E+L Markhams

Allegro Optical

Benjamin Opticians

Flint and Partners

Hammond and Dummer Opticians

Parley Optometrists

Sask Optics

Station Road Opticians

Lens Product of the Year

UVProtect, Carl Zeiss Vision

Crizal Sapphire UV, Essilor

Autograph Intelligence, Shamir

Ultrathin, Waterside Laboratories

Frame of the Year

Blackcap, Bird Glasses

1305, Cutler and Gross

Topanga, L.A. Eyeworks

Camila, Xavier Garcia

Elena, Reykjavik Eyes Black Label

Rapunzel S05, Specsavers

Atum, You Mawo

Contact Lens Product of the Year

OptiExpert, CooperVision

Versa One Day Toric, Mark’ennovy

Personalized Care

Duette, SynergEyes UK

Optical Supplier of the Year

24/7 Uptime

Heidelberg Engineering

Mainline Optical Connections



Scope Ophthalmics

Waterside Laboratories

Low Vision Award

Judith Potts, Esme's Umbrella

Mellis Eyecare

Stephanie Cairns, Sight Service

The Seeing Beyond the Eyes Team,

Visualise Training & Consultancy

Enhanced Optical Service Award

Boots Opticians, Knightsbridge

Parley Optometrists

Rawlings Opticians, Croydon

Specsavers, Alton

Specsavers, Haverfordwest

Frame Stylist of the Year sponsored by Transitions

Amiee Wheeler, Eyeworks London

Sarah Neath, Lamertons Opticians

Janan Choudhury, Spectacle Emporium

Rachelle Garcia Russo, Station Road Opticians

Optical Assistant Team of the Year

Boots Opticians, St Helens

Bowen Opticians

Clark Family Eyecare

Cooper & Barr Opticians

Glass & Glass Optometrists

Specsavers, Bicester

Contact Lens Practitioner of the Year sponsored by Alcon

Christopher Nixon, Christopher Nixon Optometrists

Iain Johnson, Maloney Opticians

Marc Drake, Osmond Drake Opticians

Dipesh Chhatralia, Parker & Hammond Opticians

Lisa Pipe, Parley Optometrists

Dispensing Optician of the Year, sponsored by Asda Opticians

Sheryl Doe, Allegro Optical

John Singh, Leightons Insight

Fraser McLean, Rachel Murray Eyecare

Tanja White, Specsavers, Bicester

Optometrist of the Year sponsored by CooperVision

Cathy Dallimore, Edmonds & Slatter Opticians

Keyur Patel, K3 Healthcare

Catherine McNamara, Liverton Opticians

Rebecca Rietdyke, Maloney Opticians

David Barker, Rawlings Opticians