A great night was had by 300 guests including leading figures from optometry, the professional associations, the industry and business, who gathered in the historic Chiswell Street Brewery.
Opening the Awards, optician editor Chris Bennett said that innovation and new ideas were crucial to the development of optics and that the winners of the awards showed just such attributes. 'They are the future of optics and that future looks bright,' he said.
The evening was hosted by comedian and Spectacle Wearer of the Year Harry Hill. He entertained the guests before presenting the winners of the 10 categories which were as follows:
Start-up Practice of the Year was won by Philip Jones Opticians, Carnforth, Lancashire
Contact Lens Practice of the Year, sponsored by Johnson & Johnson Vision Care, was won by the Vision Clinic, Harrow
Fashion Eyewear Practice of the Year was won by Mallon+Taub, London
The Eyecare Practice of the Year, sponsored by Ciba Vision, was won by Classic Eyes, Cardiff
The Marketing Initiative of the Year Award, sponsored by Rodenstock, was won by McElholm Opticians, Kircubbin, County Down
The Contribution to CET Award, sponsored by Dollond & Aitchison, was won by Professor David Thomson
The Specialist Eye Care Practice of the Year Award was won by Mackie Opticians, Glasgow
The Technology Practice of the Year Award, sponsored by Grafton Optical and its technology partners Eyescape and Paradigm, was won by the Lacey Practice, Bournemouth
Large High Street Practice of the Year was won by 20/20 Optical Store, London
The Supreme Achievement Award was presented to the Worshipful Company of Spectacle Makers which is celebrating its 375th year.
A full review of the optician Awards will be included in next week's issue.