The Association of Optometrists (AOP) has announced 11 new councillors who will each represent a regional constituency in the UK.

Councillors represent the views of AOP members, inform policy making and help shape the future of the profession.

This year there were contested elections in five constituencies: East of England, North East England, South East England, West Midlands and Yorkshire and the Humber.

Alexander Thornton and Ali Yasen were also appointed the designated positions of undergraduate student optometrist and pre-registration optometrist.

AOP chief executive Henrietta Alderman said: ‘Significant work lies ahead in 2017-18 including continued engagement in the GOC Education Strategic Review, extended primary care services and the future impact of technology – I very much look forward to working with Councillors on these and other issues.’

AOP Council members 2017-8

Deepali Modha- East of England

Bhavik Parmar- East Midlands

Rakhee Shah- London

Angela Henderson - North East England

Dharmesh Patel - North West England

Andrew Bridges - South East England

Jane Bell - South West England

Susan Bowers - West Midlands

Nizz Sabir - Yorkshire and the Humber

Brian McKeown - Northern Ireland

Alison McClune - Scotland