Eight new Council members were welcomed by the College of Optometrists during the organisation’s Optometry Tomorrow Bitesize 2021 virtual event at the end of March.

The newly elected members to the Council were David Hill, John Kidd, Keziah Latham, Jay Varia, Katie Curran, Lewes James Hambrey, Jagdeep Singh and Paul Appleson.

Hambrey said: ‘I am excited to join the Council at a time when optometry is evolving to meet the demands of a changing world, and am grateful for the opportunity to represent fellow professionals.’

Nine members of the Council ended their tenure at the event, with Parth Shah, Deepali Modha, Peter Allen, Joy Myint, Lorcan Butler, Stephanie Campbell, Prab Boparai, Aleksandra Mankowska and Eddie Pigott stepping down.

A full list of regional Council members is available at college-optometrists.org/council-member