The IOA has announced a shortlist of practitioners for the International Optician of the Year Award, with achievements such as creating mobile optician businesses and leading edge innovation.

Four finalists included opticians from countries worldwide, including Wendy Buchanan from Canada; Grant Hannaford from Australia; April Petrusma from Australia; and Jean Francois Porte from France.

Fiona Anderson, IOA president, commented: ‘We are impressed by the calibre of entries and delighted to announce this shortlist. The finalists will now have the chance to supply a dossier of evidence to back up their achievements in the eight areas of expertise we are looking for. I hope that showcasing these outstanding opticians will inspire the whole profession.’

The winner will be awarded during Silmo in Paris, France, in September.