Specsavers scored a double double at this year’s Optician Awards with its stores in Edinburgh Morningside and Chelmsley Wood each picking up two trophies.

Regional practices once again led the way. Last year Welsh practices won four awards but this year it was Scotland storming ahead scooping five awards in all. The UK’s biggest multiple was also well represented with over a dozen Specsavers’ practices or staff in the final. In total Specsavers won eight awards but it was denied victory in the Multiple Practice of the Year category by Boots Opticians’ Truro practice in Cornwall. England was not left out with awards going to practices in and around London, the Midlands and the North. A full run down of the winners and shortlists can be seen opposite.

In all 18 trophies were presented at a glittering black tie bash in the Hilton Metropole next to the National Exhibition Centre near Birmingham. The event was held on the Saturday night of the Optrafair weekend and saw more than 500 guests gather for the movie-themed evening.

The evening started with a drinks reception, sponsored by Scope, before the guests made their way to the sumptuously decorated presentation room where they were treated to a stunning cinema- evoking audio-visual show and welcomes from Optician editor Chris Bennett and Simon Brown of the event’s chosen charity, Blind Veterans UK.

Bennett thanked all Awards entrants and said the quality and quantity of entries showed how sought after an Optician Award had become. He added that the dedication demonstrated by young people, young practices and young teams could only be positive for the future of optics.

Dinner was then served during which guests took part in a game of heads or tails raising £3,000 for BVUK. After dinner the Awards started in earnest. The host for the night was comedian, author and TV personality Mark Watson. He wowed the audience with a comedy set before moving on to host the Awards aided by Bennett. After the Awards presentation guests were invited to dance the night away to the live band, the Kicks, or try their luck at the charity casino.

Optician would like to thank all the entrants to this year’s awards and offer its commiserations to those who did not make it to the shortlist. Optician would also like to thank its sponsors for their support and enabling the Optician Awards to be such an unmissable event. All of the Award winners will be profiled in Optician over the coming months.

Optician awards roll of honour 2018: Winners and shortlisted

Technology Practice of the Year

Winner: Specsavers Morningside

Rifkind and Brophy Optometrists

Black and Lizars, Glasgow Fenwick Road

Hammond and Dummer Opticians

Parley Optometrists

The Family Optician of the Year

Winner: Lynne Fernandes Optometrists

Wardale Williams

H&H Eyecare

Edwards & Walker Opticians

Ladybrook Eyewear

Planit Opticians

Children’s Contact Lens Practice of the Year sponsored by CooperVision

Winner: Central Vision Opticians

Cameron Optometry

Keith Murphy Opticians

Multiple Practice of the Year

Winner: Boots Opticians Truro

Specsavers South Shields

Specsavers Sutton-in-Ashfield

Vision Express Boston

Independent Practice of the Year sponsored by Hoya

Winner: Vision Optique London

Kings Hill Opticians

Richard Petrie Optometrist

Keith Murphy Opticians

Nethercott Opticians

Martin Smith Opticians

Fashion Practice of the Year

Winner: Spectacle Emporium


Mincher-Lockett & Co Opticians

Eyeworks London

Rachel Murray Eyecare

Contact Lens Practice of the Year Award sponsored by Johnson & Johnson Visioncare

Winner: Specsavers Loughborough

South Shields Specsavers

Nottingham Specsavers

Specsavers Holborn

The Practice Growth Award, sponsored by A+E+L Markhams

Winner: Cameron Optometry

Zacks Eye Clinic

Duncan and Todd Group

Specsavers Cwmbran

Glass and Glass Optometrists

Rawlings Opticians

Lens Product of the Year

Winner: Caledonian Optical, ARC Steady

Hoya, En Route

Younger Optical NuPoalr Infinite Grey

Shamir, Glacier Achromatic

Nikon, SeeCoat Bright

Essilor, Varilux X Series

Frame of the Year

Winner: Gotti, Perspective

Eyespace, Longnor

Rolf Spectacles, Capri Flexlock

Booth & Bruce BB1711

Marchon, Chloe Palma

Walter & Herbert, Taylor Cherry Ember

Optical Supplier of the Year

Winner: Optos

Scope Ophthalmics

Heidelberg Engineering




Contact Lens Product of the Year

Winner: CooperVision, Misight

Johnson & Johnson,

Acuvue Oasys 1-Day with HydraLuxe Technology for Astigmatism

Enhanced Optical Service Award

Winner: Mellis Eyecare

Eye 2 Eye

Specsavers Wembley

David Burghardt Vision Care

Lynne Fernandes Optometrists

Andrew & Rogers Optometrists

Leader of the Future Award, sponsored by Leightons Opticians

Winner: Paige Furlong, Specsavers Chelmsley Wood

Dilraj Gumber, Specsavers

Jasmine Smith, Aves Optometrists

Karan Vyas, Specsavers

David Tye, Specsavers Nottingham

Alison Edwards

Optical Assistant Team of the Year

Winner: Specsavers Chelmsley Wood

Bainbridge Optometrists

Specsavers Torquay

Specsavers Forfar

Specsavers Teignmouth

Eye 2 Eye Opticians Ltd

David Burghardt Vision Care

Contact Lens Practitioner of the Year sponsored by Alcon

Winner: Indie Grewal, Leighton’s Opticians and Hearing Care

Iain Johnson, Locum

Andrew Scott, Andrew & Rogers Optometrists

Suzanne Czerwinski, Specsavers Nottingham

Jonathan Stewart, 2020 Opticians

Faye McDearmid, Campbell & McDearmid Optometrists

Dispensing Optician of the Year

Winner: Sue Edwards, Martin Smith Opticians

Russell Ham, Specsavers Newport

Sheryl Doe, Allegro Optical

Optometrist of the Year

Winner: Michael O’Kane, Specsavers, Morningside

Shamina Asif, Optom Academy, Moores Opticians

Dr Annette Grounds, Patrick and Menzies

Dr Sheeraz Janjua