The College of Optometrists has welcomed seven new members to its Council.

Announced to have joined the Council at Optometry Tomorrow 2019 last month, the new Council members are Kyla Black, Shane Abbas Bhimani, Nitika Sondhi, Matt Roney, Kathryn Trimmer, Jodie Wearne and Eddie Pigott.

Professor Edward Mallen, College president, said: ‘I would like to offer a warm welcome to our new Council members. Our Council takes pride in ensuring that we all remain true to our principles and accountable to our members, so it’s very important we have ambassadors who are actively engaged in the College and rooted in the profession. I would also like to take the opportunity to thank all the outgoing Council members for their work helping to shape the future direction of the College and the profession.’