Optometry Wales hosts first awards

News Awards

Optometry Wales hosted its first awards ceremony at Portland House, Cardiff Bay, on November 25, with 174 guests attending and £735 raised for charities on the night.

Lorcan Butler, optical engagement manager at the Brain Tumour Charity compèred the ceremony and Optometry Wales chairman Craig Mackenzie presented the eight winning awards.

‘A good night was had by all celebrating the wonderful workforce we have in Wales,’ said Mackenzie.

Monnow Eyecare, a Hakim Group independent in Monmouth scooped the Practice of the year award, while its director and senior independent prescriber optometrist Helen Tilley was named Optometrist of the year.

Tilley said the success was testament to the dedication of the incredible team: ‘We are excited to further enhance our services, continuing to prioritise the health and wellbeing of our patients with the unwavering support of our exceptional team.’

Elinor Hobby, optometrist at Osmond Drake in Penarth, another Hakim Group independent, won Innovator of the year, while Kimberley Waters from Specsavers in Newport won Pre-registration optometrist of the year.

Green practice of the year went to Jonathan Partridge Opticians in Welshpool and Best newcomer of the year went to Rebecca Goldsworthy of Specsavers in Bridgend.

Ian Chalmers from Cardiff-based Chalmers Opticians scooped the Contact lens optician of the year award and Sara Mozaffar from Annette Dobbs Eyecare in Barry won Practice manager of the year.