The International Association of Contact Lens Educators (IACLE) presented the IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year Awards and IACLE Travel Award in Texas, USA.

The ceremony took place on November 9 at an international reception hosted by sponsors CooperVision.

The IACLE Contact Lens Educator of the Year 2018 winners included Professor Lyndon Jones of the University of Waterloo in Canada for the Americas, Associate Professor Runa Mazumder of Vidyasagar College of Optometry & Vision Science in Kolkata, India for the Asia Pacific area and Wim Borst of Deltion College in Zwollen and Henri Eek of Deltion College and Hogeschool in Utrecht, the Netherlands, for the Europe, Africa and Middle East areas.

The IACLE Travel Award was presented to Professor Martha Lucila Márquez García of Santo Tomás University in Bucaramanga, Colombia.

Marcella McParland, director of professional services EMEA at CooperVision, said: ‘Thank you to the 2018 award winners who are encouraging a new generation of scientists, clinicians and educators to push further, look deeper and consider how contact lenses really can have a bigger impact on the world we live in.’