Finalists for the Optician Awards can now be revealed after the completion of judging for the 2020 event.

Groups of judges gathered in London last week to deliberate over the 16 categories up for grabs. This year’s incarnation includes new trophies and new supporters with the first ever outing for the Social Media Practice of the Year Award. The 2020 event also includes new sponsors in the shape of Optos for the Technology Practice of the Year Award and Midland Eyecare for the Family Practice of the Year Award. They join longer term sponsors Alcon, Asda Opticians, Coopervision, Hoya, Johnson & Johnson and Vivid Optical who Optician thanks for their continued support.

This year’s presentation will take place at the Hilton, Birmingham Metropole on April 4, which is the Saturday night of the Optrafair weekend. Optician has pulled out all of the stops this year to secure a very special host whose identity will be revealed shortly. The Optician Awards is the biggest party night of the optical calendar with the names of the winners revealed at a glittering black tie bash in front of more than 500 guests. Tickets are open to all and can be purchased at

The next step of the Optician Awards journey is the finalists’ party in London on February 27 at Revolution America Square near Tower Hill. Those shortlisted opposite will be invited along with sponsors to hear about the final preparations for the presentation evening and take some time to soak up the Awards vibe. This is an opportunity for our nominees to get to know one another over a canapé and a drink without the feverish atmosphere of the Awards night itself.

Optician would like to thank the 200 plus entrants who embarked on the Awards journey with us this year and completed the 1,000 word entry and provided supporting material. This also created a hefty workload for our judging panels.

This year’s black tie presentation ceremony will be themed around the 1990s and include a range of entertainment, plus that very special host. The evening will start with a reception before the 500 plus guests enjoy a sumptuous three course dinner and are treated to a stunning in full audio-visual show. The presentation of the trophies will follow the theme of the night. Once the trophies have been presented there will be dancing to some of the best 1990s tunes and the chance to enjoy some other 1990s fun. Optician thanks everyone who entered the Awards, if you did not make it to a shortlist bad luck, competition was fierce so better luck next year.

The Optician Awards presentation night is a celebration of optics and you do not need to be on a shortlist to attend.

Roll of Honour: Optician Awards nominee shortlists 2020

Contact Lens Practice of the Year sponsored by Johnson & Johnson Vision

Hammond and Dummer

Specsavers, Worcester

Tompkins Knight & Son

Specsavers, Derby

Contact Lens Practitioner of the Year sponsored by Alcon

Mark Darling, Mark Darling Eyecare

Iain Johnson, Maloney Opticians

Lisa Pipe, Parley Optometrists

Bhavin Shah, Central Vision Opticians

Contact Lens Product of the Year

Mark’ennovy, MYLO

Visioneering Technologies, NaturalVue Multifocal 1 Day

Menicon, Miru 1 day Flat Pack

Johnson & Johnson Vision, Acuvue with Transitions Light Intelligent Technology

Dispensing Optician of the Year sponsored by Asda Opticians

Zoe Anderson, Eden Eyecare

Lynsey Arguello, Broadhurst Optometrists

Jan Carol Cohen, G&G Optometrists

Suzana Gordon, Taylor-West and Co Opticians

Russel Ham, Specsavers Newport

Enhanced Optical Service Award

Probert and Williams Eyecare

Robert Frith Optometrists, Yeovil

Appleson Optometrists

Parley Optometrists

Fashion Practice of the Year

Park Vision

Station Road Opticians

Rachel Murray Eyecare

Mincher-Lockett & Co Opticians

Broadhurst Optometrists

Independent Practice of the Year sponsored by Hoya

Benjamin Opticians

Liverton Opticians

Davies & Jones Optometrists

Robinson Optometrists

Linklaters Optometrists

Barnham Opticians

Frame of the Year

Gotti, DC06 Space

ASDA Opticians, Bioeyes

Bird, Luna

l.a. Eyeworks, Garcia

Cutler and Gross, 1355

Sea2See, Positano (Henry Beaumont Eyewear)

Aspinal of London, Deauville (Eyespace Eywear)

Lens Product of the Year

Carl Zeiss, a Vision SmartLife

Essilor, AVA

Hoya MySelf

Hoya, visuReal Master Mirror

Multiple Practice of the Year

Specsavers, Melton Mowbray

Boots Opticians, Exmouth

Specsavers, Bicester

Optical Assistant Team of the Year

Allegro Optical

Robinson Optometrists

Henshaws Patient Support Service

David Burghardt Vision Care

Glass & Glass Optometrists

BBR Optometry

Specsavers, Bicester

Optical Supplier of the Year

BIB Ophthalmic Instruments


Eyewear Styling Academy

Eyespace Eyewear

Bondeye Optical

Optometrist of the Year sponsored by CooperVision

Mark Simpson, Allister and Simpson Opticians

Dr Keyur Patel, Tompkins Knight and Son Optometrists

Dr Rohit Narayan, Anstee & Proctor

Munirali Haji, Dickens Eye Clinic

Pretty Basra, Edwards and Walker Opticians

Social Media Practice of the Year

Urquhart Opticians Kilmarnock

Tompkins Knight and Son Optometrists

Station Road Opticians

The Eye Establishment

BBR Optometry

Technology Practice of the Year sponsored by Optos

Tenterden Opticians, Hearing & Eye Clinic

Central Vision Opticians

Hammond and Dummer Bespoke Opticians

Parley Optometrists

Buchanan Optometrists

The Family Optician of the Year sponsored by Midland Eyecare

Barnham Opticians

Valli Opticians

Planit Opticians

Clear View Opticians

Observatory the Opticians

Romsey Eyecare