Silmo IOA 2023 presents award finalists

Silmo award for 2022 winner

Silmo IOA International Optician of the Year Award 2023 finalists were announced, recognising the importance of opticians’ role in optics. 

Finalists included Jean-François Porte (France), Angela Mitchell (New Zealand), Vitor Manuel Simões Martins (Portugal), Phernell Walker (USA), and Carrie Wilson (USA). 

The finalists will be judged on professionalism, communication skills, entrepreneurial spirit, innovation, specialisation, creativity, engagement, and advocacy of the profession. 

IOA President Donald Crichton said: ‘We are impressed by the calibre of entries and delighted to announce this short list. The finalists will now have the chance to supply a dossier of evidence to back up their achievements in the eight areas of expertise we are looking for. I hope that showcasing these outstanding opticians will inspire the whole profession.’ 

Register now to continue reading

Thank you for visiting Optician Online. Register now to access up to 10 news and opinion articles a month.


Already have an account? Sign in here